Chicken Fried Rice

I was inspired to make this because about a week ago, we brought chicken kabobs (marinated in a jerk seasoning wet rub) to a cookout and it was SOOO good. Then a couple nights ago a friend called to come over for dinner, so I had to take what I had in the fridge and figure out something to serve for dinner. I loved the challenge. I ended up making this fried rice, a roasted beet/cabbage salad, a cucumber sesame dressing salad, and a very small dish of sautéed beet greens.

It turned out to be a great way to use leftover rice, which is usually so hard to use well. I don’t really like fried rice, but probably because I don’t like the egg in it. The egg usually gets overcooked and then the whole fried rice tastes…off. So there are no eggs in this fried rice recipe. Also I wanted an excuse to try cooking with coconut oil, which I had just bought at walmart of all places. It was really good.

Most of the measurements are approximate because I rarely measure anything in the kitchen anymore. The one thing that I’m uncertain of is the allspice and sugar. When I made it I used about 2 Tbl of allspice syrup (the last in the bottle of syrup we had made for pancakes a couple weeks ago). I added the allspice syrup to the rice after it had heated in the pan for 5 minutes and covered it for just a minute a two, then stirred and served. I added the syrup last so that it wouldn’t burn. So since most people won’t have allspice syrup on hand, I tried to guess how much sugar and ground allspice would be equivalent for the flavor.

Sorry I have no picture of this recipe, but it was really good.

Ingredients:

1 large onion diced

2 dried red chiles torn in two

1 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp salt

ground black pepper

1/4 tsp ground allspice

3 Tbl coconut oil

~2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breast

~2-3 cups leftover cooked rice

1 Tbl brown sugar

2-3 Tbl water

1. Chop the onion and place in a bowl. Add the dried chiles, thyme, oregano, allspice, salt, and pepper and set aside.

2. Cut the chicken into small cubes. Take the leftover rice out and put on the counter to come to room temperature while you start cooking.

3. Heat a wok or large skillet over medium heat and add the coconut oil. Once it’s hot add the onion and spice mixture and heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

4. Add the chicken and stir, then cover and let cook for 15-20 minutes, stirring about every 5 minutes.

5. Once the chicken is cooked, layer the rice on top and add the water to steam and reheat the rice. Cover and let heat for about 5 minutes. DO NOT stir the rice or it might burn on the bottom of the pan, just let it steam and heat on top. Last add the sugar and cover for a couple of minutes to heat the sugar.

Once it’s heated through, give it a good stir and serve.

Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Quick Dishes, rice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

