Rice Pudding

This is loosely based on a recipe from Secrets of Colombian Cooking by Patricia McCausland-Gallo.

So I had way too much milk in the fridge and it was starting to go bad, so I tried to use it up by making this.

Here’s how I made it, but I would recommend a few changes for next time:

Soak in fridge for 2 hours: 6 cups 2% milk, 1 1/2 cups rice.
Put rice and soaking milk in large pot, add 3 more cups milk, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 cinnamon sticks and 6 cloves, put on medium heat and slowly heat to a simmer (about 30 min).
Lower heat to low and simmer, covered, for 60-70 min stirring every 10 minutes.
After about 20 minutes it looked like it was loosing too much liquid and I wanted it to cook longer so I added 2 cups of water.
After about 70 minutes I added 1 3/4 cups sugar and chopped pitted dates and chopped prunes.

Oh I also removed the cloves and cinnamon sticks before adding the chopped fruit.

The result was a little too creamy and a little too sweet. And you couldn’t taste the cloves and cinnamon enough. So next time I think I would just stick with 6 cups of milk, and instead add 5 cups of water, or maybe soak the rice in 6 cups of water and then later add 5 cups of milk after simmering for awhile. Cinnamon and cloves seem to seep their flavor out more in water than in milk. Also the chopped dates didn’t work in it very well, the texture is strange, but prunes or raisins are good.

A few days later I blended a little of it with some plain milk and ice cubes to make an horchata (Mexican cinnamon rice drink), but the texture made it come out more like an eggnog. Anyway, it was really good.

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

