Homemade Peanut Butter

This is so easy, so cheap and tastes SOOO much better than store bought.

First take a bunch of raw peanuts (~ 2 cups) and place them on a baking sheet. Throw them in a preheated 350 degree oven:

Roast for about 30 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so, and they should look like this:

Place a handful in a cloth napkin or towel:

Gather it and scrunch it up to break up all the papery skins:

Then pour the contents of the napkin into a colander:

and sift out the skins:

then it will look like this:

and you’ve gotten rid of most of the papery skins that will make your peanut butter bitter:

next put through your grinder attachment, or you could put in a food processor and grind till really small:

ground roasted peanuts:

next add a little bit of oil, I added canola, but you could use peanut oil if you have it:

and stir until incorporated:

oops I forgot to add some salt, you could also add sugar or honey or molasses if you want, but I don’t like my peanut butter sweet:

store in a glass jar:

As you can see I made this a LONG time ago and took pictures, but since I’m just now drafting the post, I can’t remember how long it lasted in the fridge, but I would assume at least 2 weeks. Feel free to correct  me if I’m wrong.

This entry was posted in Sauces and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Homemade Peanut Butter

  1. Jenna says:

    Yum! This looks fun to make, and delicious to boot.

Leave a Reply

