Christmas Part 3: Hacky sack

Crocheting 3-dimensional objects is really fun. I made this hacky sack for my niece for Christmas this past year. I used orange size 10 crochet thread and cut up strips of an old pair of sweat pants for the stuffing. I could’ve used dried beans, but then it would’ve been more possible to hit and hurt somebody with it. Since my niece was soon to get a baby sister, I knew hard objects to throw would probably not be a good idea. Also I didn’t really have any dried beans at the time and it was an impulsive craft project, so I used what I had (that’s the real reason, shh).  And I know I shouldn’t be talking about Christmas right now, but I drafted this post before my baby was born 3 months ago and this is all I have time to post right now (as I sit here typing one-handed while nursing my baby).

Hacky sack: steps in pictures below.

This entry was posted in Gifts, Scrap Fabrics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Part 3: Hacky sack

  1. Jenna says:

    Very cool! I love that shade of orange. And I’m so glad you’re back to blogging! Even if it requires some multitasking on your part . . . =)

  2. Veronica says:

    Don’t you love making homemade gifts! What a great idea–a crocheted hackey sack!

    I found you through a comment you left on Jenna’s blog and want to invite you to her virtual baby shower. Please email me at vraklis@yahoo.com so I can give you all the details, and be sure to include your blog link in the email so I can keep track of who I’ve reached. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

