Two Butternut Squash Recipes

I love butternut squash! It’s so creamy and orange, which is one of my favorite colors. I got two large butternut squashes from a friend’s garden and was so excited to use them. So of course when I was given the task to bring the pumpkin pie for this past Thanksgiving, I wanted to investigate using the butternut squash instead. I came across this recipe on Farmer’s Daughter, and made it. I followed the advice of someone in the comments section and roasted the squashes whole for the first 15 minutes and then took them out, cut them in half and scooped out the seeds. Then I put them back in the oven, cut side down, for the remainder of the hour. That made it so much easier to cut.

After I took them out of the oven, I let them cool a little while and then scooped out the flesh and pureed it in the food processor. Look at how beautiful and orange it is (top left pic)! It made about 6 cups of puree. So I used 2 cups right away and made 2 pies for Thanksgiving. They were soooooo good. I love pumpkin pie, but I don’t think I could ever go back now. Butternut squash pie is so much better.

If you like pumpkin pie and didn’t make any pie for pi day yet (pi day was just a few days ago), I suggest you go over the Farmer’s Daughter and check out her recipe and make it. You won’t regret it. The one thing I changed was I used half brown sugar and half white sugar, instead of all white sugar. That’s why you see the little brown specks. My brown sugar didn’t get completely broken up when I mixed it in. Oh, I think I also might’ve omitted the 2 Tbsp water, but I can’t remember. Don’t be fooled by the somewhat more liquidy texture when it first comes out of the oven. It will set and taste better after sitting in the fridge overnight. Also we tried a piece while it was still hot (because I can’t not try things right out of the oven, even if I’m bringing it to someone else’s house) and I thought it was WAY too sweet. But then after it sat in the fridge and we ate it the next day, it was perfect. I also think this pie needs no whipped cream on top.

 

The other recipe, unfortunately, I never got a picture of. But trust that it looks and tastes really good. I used the rest of the squash puree to make two loaves of bread. This recipe is loosely based off of a pumpkin bread recipe from America’s Test Kitchen, but I changed it a lot.

Butternut Squash Bread
makes 1 loaf

1. Preheat oven to 350F and grease a loaf pan with oil.

2. Whisk together in a medium sized bowl:
2 cups flour (I had to use half bread flour cause I ran out of all purpose, worked fine)
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg
1/2 cup pecan meal (finely ground pecans)

3. Whisk together in a large bowl:
2 eggs
2 cups pureed butternut squash
1 cup sugar
1 Tbl grated fresh ginger
1/2 cup canola oil
2 tsp vanilla

4. Fold the wet and dry together, and then fold in:
1/2 cup fresh cranberries
1/2 cup dried currants

5. Put in the loaf pan and bake until golden brown and a skewer in the center comes out clean or with just a few crumbs (about 1 hour). Let the bread cool in the pan about 10-15  min then let it cool outside the pan on a wire rack. Tastes good hot right out of the pan or cooled to room temperature. Good topped with butter, but even better topped with peanut butter.

This entry was posted in Breads, Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two Butternut Squash Recipes

  1. Glad you liked my recipe 🙂 I’ll have to try the brown sugar variation!

  2. Jenna says:

    Nice! I love butternut squash, but have trouble cutting it–thanks for the advice with regards to roasting it whole for a while before attempting to split it in half. =) That will make my fingers feel much safer.

    • Yeah seriously! I’m always terrified of chopping my fingers off when I try to chop any winter squash, or even watermelon. This made it a lot easier. I still think even with the 15 min of roasting a serrated knife was easier than using a chef’s knife though.

Leave a Reply

