Christmas Part 1

I know Christmas is long gone, but I was really excited about the things that I made for Christmas this time and so I want to share them anyway. It took me a long time to be able to edit some photos because I was dealing with a new photo program that was not intuitive at all, but I think I’ve finally figured it out. I guess you can’t be picky with freeware though.

Anyway, so for the first installment of Christmas projects I’ll talk about the gifts I made for my nieces. Like many of my sewing projects, I did not start out making what I ended up finishing. I started out cutting a bunch of colorful squares to make a multi-colored, multi-purpose chessboard for my husband. A post in the future (probably distant future at the rate I’m getting these out) will tell more about that. The problem was after I finished cutting all the little squares and sewed 2 rows together, I realized I had measured wrong and they were all the wrong size. They were gonna be too small to fit the chess pieces on them.

So of course I turned to my husband and said, “I measured them all wrong. Now what am I supposed to do with all these squares?”

“Yep, measure twice, cut once. That’s what you’re supposed to do.”

“I know. Well now that I have 2 rows, maybe I could sew them together and make a bookmark out of them.”

“Yeah, and put stuffing in the middle!”

“What? Why would I wanna put stuffing in the middle?”

“Hey it’s long and narrow, make a snake out of it!”

“Hey, that’s a good idea!”

So after examining just how many squares I had and how long and narrow it would be, I realized I could make 2 snakes. Which was perfect because I have 2 nieces. NIECES! You say? But you’re making snakes! Isn’t that more appropriate for nephews? Well, girls under 2 don’t know yet that they’re not supposed to like snakes (although I always did) and all they care about is that they have a funny shaped thing with bright colors on it that’s good for chewing on, throwing across the room, and all other sorts of play ideas.

Hmmm, this post is getting long. Time to cut it short.

Picture 1: All the squares I cut for the chessboard that were too small.

Picture 2: In the process of making the head, my seams started separating because of pulling on them so much to first turn the body inside out after sewing and then to put the stuffing in with a huge dowel.

Picture 3: Reason why the seams separated. So don’t make my mistake and iron your seams out like that. Instead, iron them to one side or the other; it makes them stronger.

Three different views of the finished look:

I’ve heard from both families that the nieces really do like playing with them. So girls can handle snake toys after all.

This entry was posted in Problem Solver and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Part 1

  1. Jenna says:

    Those are some AWESOME snakes! When I first read Andrew’s comment ‘you should make snakes,’ I was like “what??” But the final pictures explain the brilliance of the idea. They are so cute!

  2. Jen says:

    It’s amazing how all our little baby buddies gravitate toward Nora’s snake when they come over — girls and boys alike!

  3. Pingback: Multi-Purpose Game Board « Pinking Shears & Broccoli Spears

Leave a Reply

