Fixing a Purse

My husband bought me this beautiful purse in South East Asia several years ago when we were just dating. I love this bag. It has a very comfortable fabric strap that is long and allows for wearing the bag in multiple ways. As across the torso, over one shoulder or as a backpack.

I also prefer woven fabric bags to leather bags for several reasons:
1) They are much lighter weight. That way your bag weighs closer to the contents of your bag, rather than the contents plus the weight of a heavy bag.
2) They are practical. What happens if you accidentally spill coffee on your designer leather bag? HORRIBLENESS. I’m not entirely sure, but it’s not pretty, I do know that. What happens if you accidentally spill coffee on your fabric bag? NOTHING. You just wash it, hang it out to dry, and it’s good as new.
3) I like the non brand name, earthy, crunchy, granola look of a woven fabric bag.

The only problem with the original bag was there were no pockets inside and it had no closure, so stuff could fall out easily. “No problem,” I said. “I can sew. I’ll just make pockets for it myself.” Nevermind the fact that I didn’t actually make those pockets for a couple of years, but anyway, I did finally make them. And now I’ve been using the bag with pockets and zipper for about 3 years or so. It works fabulously.

So here’s a couple of pictures of the process of making it:
-Bag inside out with no lining.
-Lining with pencil/pen, cell phone, chapstick and other misc pockets.
-In the bottom left you see the two sides of the lining with all the pockets sewn on before I attached it to the bag.
-Then the finished look. You can see I added some black fabric to raise the zipper a little and have something to attach it to. If I had just sewn the zipper directly to the bag, it would not be wide enough and the zipper might rip easily.

All of the fabrics are scraps from previous projects, and the lining is from an old sweatshirt. New fabric is great to buy for projects that you make for other people. Then you can use the leftovers for random small projects. But clothing is even better to repurpose. It’s fun when you can use your old clothing that you hate as clothing and use it to make something cool that you’ll like. And then you’re not just throwing it away either. I’ll have more posts to come of things I’ve made with repurposed clothing. But you’ll have to wait till next time.

This entry was posted in Scrap Fabrics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fixing a Purse

  1. Jenna says:

    I know this purse well! =) And it’s very ‘you’–I’ve always admired your ability and drive to repurpose things.

Leave a Reply

