Cranberry Apple Sauce

I made this earlier in the fall with some apples I had picked at the local orchard. Apple sauce might not sound that exciting, but I really like cranberries and I really like homemade apple sauce. I hope you enjoy it!

I’m experimenting with putting all the pictures together into one. Let me know what you think. From top to bottom, left to right, is the order of steps in each picture.

Take about 5 lbs of apples or so. Peel and chop them into cubes.
Add:
about half of a 12 oz bag of cranberries
1 inch piece of ginger, grated
1 cinnamon stick
about 1 inch of water in the pot

Simmer for about 30-45 minutes or so. Honestly, I don’t remember how long I cooked it for, but basically you just want the apples to get soft enough to mash. It should look something like the bottom left picture when it’s done.

I removed the cinnamon stick, mashed it up a little with a potato masher, and added some brown sugar to taste, not much because the apples are sweet. Then I served some to my husband. (Bottom middle picture)

It tastes good hot or cold. But the cranberry skins did bother me a little bit. So the next day I put it all in the food processor and pureed it. Then the texture was much better. (Bottom right picture)

I know it looks like baby food now, but the taste was really good. It was a big hit when my brother, sister and niece came over. My niece had two helpings, but the second time she also started playing with the sauce a little and decided to dump some on the carpet. Surprisingly, some hot water and paper towels got the stain out right away.

This entry was posted in Sauces and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

