Beef Stew with Kale, Sweet Potatoes and Quinoa

I made this tonight for dinner. My desires were to make a largeish pot of something so that I could have leftovers while using up some beef I had in the freezer and using some ingredients I haven’t cooked with in awhile. Or in the case of kale, an ingredient I have never cooked with before. Recently, I’ve started buying ingredients that I’ve never cooked with before and figured out, once I get home, how to cook them. Last weeks experiment was collard greens, this time was kale. Also I’m trying to eat more green leafy vegetables. They are delicious and extremely healthy. I don’t know why I don’t cook with them more often. Anyway here is the recipe, sorry I don’t have pictures of each step. I probably won’t be able to do that for all of my posts, but I’ll try to when I can.

All measurements (except allspice, chiles and bay leaves) are approximate because I didn’t actually measure:

Heat 1 Tbl oil over medium heat and put in:
1 lb beef (I had a package of large pieces and left them that way for browning)
Brown on both sides, about 3 minutes each side. Set aside, and add to pot:
1 medium onion, chopped coarse
5-6 garlic cloves, roughly chopped
Fry for a few minutes, then add:
2 cups canned crushed tomatoes
4 cups chicken broth
1 medium carrot, chopped coarse
1 green bell pepper, chopped coarse
2 bay leaves
2 dried red chiles, torn in two pieces
5 allspice berries
1 tsp dried thyme
1 15 oz can pink/red beans, drained and rinsed
1-1 1/2 tsp salt
Return the beef to the pot and bring to a boil, then reduce to low simmer.
After 30 minutes add:
1 cup quinoa, washed well
3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped medium
15 minutes later add:
1/2 bunch kale, deribbed and roughly chopped
Simmer 15 minutes, then check to see that sweet potatoes and quinoa are cooked thoroughly and kale is tender. Remove bay leaves, allspice and dried chile pieces.
At this point since my beef was in large chunks with a vein of gristle down the middle of each piece, I removed the beef, cut around and discarded the gristle, and cut/tore the meat into bite sized pieces (it was very tender). Then I returned it to the pot.

Enjoy! Serves 4-6 people.
Total cooking time: 1 hour 15 min. 15 minutes to brown and reach a boil, 1 hour after that.
Prep time: practically nothing. Everything can be chopped in between steps.

This entry was posted in Soups/Stews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beef Stew with Kale, Sweet Potatoes and Quinoa

  1. Jenna says:

    I know I keep saying this–but I’m so excited that you have a blog! You have such an adventurous attitude in the kitchen and are such a great cook, and it’s going to be fun to follow your escapades. =) Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

